The First Presbyterian Church of Williamsport was built in 1841 on Tom Alley and Market Street. It burned on April 6, 1849 and was rebuilt. It burned again on May 16,1859 and was rebuilt again. An increase in membership prompted the construction of a new, larger church in May, 1884. This historic stone structure remains our home today. The sanctuary was lighted with a magnificent chandelier and the choir loft was designed for a professional sextet.
The walls were decorated by Tiffany’s of New York City, the central feature being the cross with its gold background high on the chancel wall. The center of the ceiling was decorated with a crown of thorns designed and painted in 1974 by Albert E. Logue. In September, 1961, the sanctuary was remodeled, new carpeting installed and the choir loft enlarged to seat a full choir.
In 1925, the church was presented with a four manual Austin organ and a set of tower chimes by James Walton Bowman. The pipes were hidden behind a grille instead of being exposed. The two windows in the chancel were closed and walnut paneling installed. The chandelier was removed, modern lights installed and the floor was carpeted.
The bell was cast of bronze and silver by McShane Bell Foundry of Baltimore, Maryland. Repairs were made in 1974 after the bell became loose and shifted from its mooring.
Shown are repairs being made to the sanctuary to ensure that its unique beauty is preserved using the original design and colors.